Post 16 Education

What next after GCSEs/functional skills exams?

What happens after you take your year 11 exams?

Recently the government introduced a new policy called “Raising the participation age” which means you have to stay in education or training until you are 18.

This is great news because it means you can gain qualifications and training to support your career options for FREE up to the age of 18, rather than finishing at 16 and returning to study later on as an adult and having to pay for your education.

So, what are your options…………………?

 Full time education

There are 2 different choices here: –

  • Go to a school 6th form and study level 3 subjects – A levels or BTECs
  • Go to a local 6th form college such as Brockenhurst, Totton or Bournemouth and Poole where you can study a range of qualifications – A levels (L3) and vocational course from levels 1 up to 3 in a variety of areas.

Part-Time education

If you`re working in self employment or volunteering for more than 20 hours per week, you can also study part time as well to support you in further improving your work skills. For example, doing a motor vehicle skills course on day release at college if you are working part time in a garage.

Apprenticeships

These are now a very popular option as the government are offering employers incentives to take on young apprentices.

With an apprenticeship, you work for an employer for no more than 40 hours per week and receive a wage as well as on the job training. This may also involve going and doing day release once a week at a local college or training provider. You get a qualification at the end of your apprenticeship. You can find further information at www.gov.uk/topic/further-education-skills/apprenticeships

OPEN EVENTS 2020/2021

The Bournemouth and Poole College

https://www.thecollege.co.uk 10/11/20 Virtual event 4pm-8pm

Wiltshire College, Salisbury Campus

https://www.wiltshire.ac.uk/salisbury-campus 7/10/20 Virtual event 5pm-7pm

8/10/20 Virtual event 5pm-7pm

15/10/20 Virtual event 5pm-7pm

Brockenhurst College Open events

 

https://www.brock.ac.uk    Sat 10/10/20 9.30am-3pm

Mon 19/10/20 4pm-8.30pm

Sat 18/11/20 9.30am-3pm

Mon 30/11/20 9.30am-12pm

Mon 25/1/21 9.30am-12pm

Wed 28/4/2021 5.30pm-8pm

Totton College

https://www.totton.ac.uk 15/10/20 Open Event 30pm-7.30pm

Sparsholt College Open Events

https://www.sparsholt.ac.uk   Sat 10.10.20 10am-2pm

Sat 14.11.20 10am-2pm

Sat 6.2.21 10am-2pm

Sat 6.3.21 10am-2pm

Wed 21.4.21 4pm-7pm

Thurs 17.6.21 4pm-7pm

Kingston Maurward College Virtual Events

https://www.kmc.ac.uk Sun 20.9.20 11am-12pm

Fri 25.9.20 12pm-1pm